Skip to content

Chronicling Rock & Metal

November 6, 2013

I’ve been a metal-head for as long as I can remember.

When I was younger it seemed that the older I got the heavier my tastes in music became, but now I listen to *almost* anything and everything…if there are guitars! My music collection is made up of about 80 % metal and hard rock with the rest covering blues, pop and singer-songwriters but I guess singer-songwriters could be classed as rock ‘n’ roll. I became immersed in metal through Ozzy and his solo stuff before venturing into the darkened depths of Black Sabbath’s back catalogue as well as Alice Cooper, Motorhead, Judas Priest, Saxon and the like. Very old school stuff, but I love it all. My friends think my tastes don’t represent my age. I was born at the wrong time. Imagine how awesome it would have been if I had been born in the 1950s/60s and thus able to witness all these awesome bands in their glorious peak years, though, it has to be said Saxon, Cooper and Motorhead are going through a golden phase right now. But I would have loved to have seen Priest in their prime ditto Ozzy especially on his ‘No More Tears’ tour or was it No More Tours tour as he’d announced his retirement?

Iron Maiden Origins Front Cover FINAL Iron Maiden Final Front Cover

After I left Uni with a degree in Film Studies, which has since proved to be worthless, I started writing for websites such as muscOMH and covered metal and rock but it was when I began contributing to Powerplay and Fireworks magazines that I began to take music journalism (I don’t call myself a journalist; just a fan who writes about his favourite music) more seriously. It became a second job, albeit unpaid. The more music journalism I read the more notice I took of other writers.

British Steel Front Cover AA Amended JP Cover

I quickly got into writing books having pitched an idea for a biog of Judas Priest to Omnibus Press and from there I became hooked on writing books. Can’t you tell? Though my books are focussed on rock and metal they show just how eclectic my tastes are – Journey, Bon Jovi, Iron Maiden, AC/DC, Metallica, You Me At Six, Linkin Park, UFO et al. I can appreciate AOR as much as I can thrash or NWOBHM.

Metallica ACDC Front Cover (2) Pantera Final Front Cover

My collection Rock & Metal Chronicles – as with AOR Chronicles – represents my love of rock ‘n’ roll in all its manifestations. The book features reviews of Motorhead, Dio, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden and Alice Cooper as well as younger bands such as Breed 77, The Answer and 45 Degree Woman and not forgetting such iconic metal names as Destruction, Exciter, Bruce Dickinson, Fight and Halford.

Rock & Metal Chronicles Front Cover FINAL

 

The book is available to buy at the following links:

Amazon UK:

(Paperback):

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rock-Metal-Chronicles-I-1/dp/1490942211/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383730179&sr=1-1&keywords=rock+and+metal+chronicles

(eBook):

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rock-Metal-Chronicles-Neil-Daniels-ebook/dp/B00DWJ6F0A/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383730179&sr=1-2&keywords=rock+and+metal+chronicles

 

Amazon US:

(Paperback):

http://www.amazon.com/Rock-Metal-Chronicles-I-1/dp/1490942211/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383730241&sr=1-1&keywords=rock+and+metal+chronicles

(eBook):

http://www.amazon.com/Rock-Metal-Chronicles-Neil-Daniels-ebook/dp/B00DWJ6F0A/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383730241&sr=1-2&keywords=rock+and+metal+chronicles

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

