Skip to content

Chronicling AOR & Melodic Rock

November 5, 2013

My love of AOR began as a teenager when I first became a music fan. I remember the first CD I ever bought was Meat Loaf’s ‘Hits Out Of Hell’ and from that point onwards I devoured as much rock as I could take in, chiefly, Bryan Adams, Bon Jovi and Queen. The first concert I went to was actually Tina Turner at the Manchester Arena on the 1996 UK leg of her mammoth ‘Wildest Dreams’ world tour.

Bon Jovi Cover Front FINAL Jpeg

As I got older and moved to University in London my tastes developed and I became immersed in heavier music, which was prompted by Ozzy Osbourne. I remember hearing his awesome ‘Live And Loud’ album for the first time – it blew my socks off. For my money, this was Ozzy at his peak. (And yes, I prefer the line-up of his band during this era to the iconic ‘Blizzard Of Ozz’ years with Randy Rhoads.) I very quickly became a fan of Ozzy’s solo stuff and Black Sabbath, and inevitably I moved onto other artists such as Alice Cooper, Motorhead, Dio and Judas Priest. My tastes have always been old school. I then got into thrash and speed metal, but still retained my love of AOR and melodic rock.

Journey Final Front Cover

Obviously the big names in AOR continue to inspire me (well, to an extent) and so I’ll always name-check Journey, Foreigner, Kansas, Europe, Heart, Styx and Boston. I admit, though I’ve penned a biog of Journey, I’ve kinda fallen out of love with them recently and I lost interest in Meat Loaf some time ago. I’ll always buy his music, I’m sure, but I’ve given up on the idea of ever seeing him live again. If there’s one artist who should have quite the stage a long time ago it’s the big ML from Texas.

Bon Jovi Book

These days my tastes are vast and varied. My mammoth CD collection is made up of metal, rock, punk, singer-songwriters and blues with a bit of pop and soundtracks. I can listen to and enjoy Metallica as well as Billy Joel, Aretha Franklin and The Clash.

RP Cover

When I first began writing about music I covered AOR artists for musicOMH and of course the glorious magazine, Fireworks and also Powerplay. Since then I’ve written books on Bon Jovi and Journey and Robert Plant. My book collection ‘AOR Chronicles’ covers my love of the famous, the obscure and the new. It features such varied artists as Meat Loaf, Journey, Europe, Foreigner, Robert Plant, Boulevard, Enuff Znuff, Extreme and Kiss, amongst dozens of others.

AORC - Front BookCoverFINAL

 

It is available to buy at these links:

 

Amazon UK:

(Paperback) http://www.amazon.co.uk/AOR-Chronicles-1-Neil-Daniels/dp/1490942122/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383646754&sr=1-1&keywords=aor+chronicles

(eBook) http://www.amazon.co.uk/AOR-Chronicles-Neil-Daniels-ebook/dp/B00DV63WXW/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383646754&sr=1-2&keywords=aor+chronicles

 

Amazon US:

(Paperback) http://www.amazon.com/AOR-Chronicles-1-Neil-Daniels/dp/1490942122/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383646809&sr=1-1&keywords=aor+chronicles

(eBook) http://www.amazon.com/AOR-Chronicles-Neil-Daniels-ebook/dp/B00DV63WXW/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383646822&sr=1-2&keywords=aor+chronicles

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

